Author Topic: Eloise and the Five Moons of Zarph (430 words)  (Read 4032 times)

Offline *Lorraine*

• The sun always shines in Cognito-by-the-Sea
Eloise and the Five Moons of Zarph (430 words)
« on: March 07, 2007, 05:54:43 AM »
This is a piece of fantasy and I would like to receive comments/advice about content/style etc as it's not my usual genre and I have limited experience of reading fantasy or sci-fi.  I think this section might form part of the opening.

Thanks.
Lorraine

Eloise was a ninth generation Kudu scout; ebony skin and raven hair was unique to her family. 

The third moon of Zarph hung over the northern ridge, casting a roseate glow over the encampment of domes which sprouted like mushrooms from the dusty, rock-strewn valley.  Eloise, who was spying from a screen of tall grasses, knew that each dome contained an Essian warrior and, more importantly, that they were sleeping.  The Essian race was known to sleep in a deep state of unconsciousness between the rising of the second and fourth moons.  By archaic decree it remained a male-only society for seven seasons of the year and this group were not due to return to Essia and their womenfolk until the next eclipse.  As a result there was a pheromone-laden cloud drifting towards the flanks of the forest where the nocturnal boars raised their snouts before continuing with their foraging.

Eloise gauged that she had enough time to return to the settlement at Kudu before the rising of the fourth moon when the Essians would gather for their only meal of the day; salt fish with black flat-bread dipped in kernel oil.  Wary of the tethered pack animals, Eloise scuttled away on palms and toes until she was at a safe distance; she unfurled the cloak of skins, flexed her lean limbs then sprinted away with lengthening strides, guided by the bracelet of stars in the eastern sky.