Author Topic: Any Doctors or other Medical Experts on the Forum Please?  (Read 2015 times)

Writewayze

Any Doctors or other Medical Experts on the Forum Please?
« on: March 25, 2009, 09:03:16 AM »
Hi there,

I just want to know if scar tissue would bruise after a blow.

I believe scars  have reduced resistance to Ultra-violet radiation, so does it get affected by the Sun? I seem to remember a guy I knew, when I was in the Mediterranean. He had a livid scar on his arm that never went brown from the Sun; or is my memory faulty?

Thanks in Anticipation.

John  :)

twisted wheel

Re: Any Doctors or other Medical Experts on the Forum Please?
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2009, 09:13:19 AM »
dedelite is the person you want to speak to.

Offline sonofdenis

• I'm an experienced beginner
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2009, 10:48:40 AM »
Hi there ... i'm an ITU nurse with a background in surgery, so have good experience with wounds, scars and skin viability.

To answer i'll need a bit more info - where is the scar tissue?  How old is it?  How big is it?

If you're talking newish scar tissue it is likely to become red and imflamed following a blow.  It would then probably become infected and break down.  If it is old scar tissue then it probably wouldn't bruise.  Not many vessles, just fatty adipose tissue.  If you're talking extremity then it wouldn't do a lot of harm (unless new) ... if you're talking abdomen then any blow is more likely to injure the reason for the scar in the first place IE surgery or trauma.

Hope this helps...

Writewayze

« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2009, 10:58:11 AM »
Hi there ... i'm an ITU nurse with a background in surgery, so have good experience with wounds, scars and skin viability.

To answer i'll need a bit more info - where is the scar tissue?  How old is it?  How big is it?