Author Topic: Please critique my first chapter of Blood Moon- word count: 1340  (Read 225 times)

Offline Skald--of--jorvik

Blood Moon is an historical romance novel set during the 9th century Viking expansion into England.

My WIP, Blood Moon, explores the impact of the Great Heathen Army in 9th century England from dual perspectives. A young Norse warrior, Balder, and a young Saxon girl, Aefre. Balder is a young man who finds begins questioning his pagan identity when he meets Aefre, a fierce yet fragile young girl who is torn between her passion for Balder and the loyalty of her domineering father. As the two seek to build a secretive relationship, amongst the backdrop of a community divided they discover that sacrifices must be made.

*Content warning: the story includes depictions of violence and references to sexual violence*

I'm a newbie here and would appreciate any feedback- especially regarding the flow of the narrative and the portrayal of the characters. The first chapter intends to set up themes and introduce the two main characters.

Winter

The memory of Odin’s death lived on in the Northmen who had never witnessed the event first hand. They didn’t need to. Each person’s personal imagination had recreated the scene countless times. The memory was bold and vivid: Odin’s body, hanging from the tree of life against a crimson sky, the spear protruding from his side, blood pouring, teeth grinding and sweat dripping was as real to the pagans as the stray grey hairs in the beard of their fathers.

Of course, the question never asked was why his death had etched its way into their souls so deeply. And, as with so many questions, there are no easy answers. For Balder, it emphasised something he would grow to learn: some truths can only be uncovered following sacrifice.