Author Topic: At Blade's Edge (1100words) Gritty/Dark Fantasy(Contains Violence, Blood & Gore)  (Read 84 times)

Offline Eddieism

• You can call me Ed, I'm a fantasy writer
Hi there, I'm Ed and this is the first chapter of my novel; I've done 2 complete overalls of this book idea, finally, after doing a bit of research I think my skill as developed enough to start it for real, Not sure what genre it is yet. A fair warning it's chock full of violence, blood, and gore from the get-go, so if that is something you do not like, please avoid reading.

What I'm hoping to get out of posting here, is to gauge the reader's interest, whether this is a good start to the novel, whether I should change it maybe.

How do you feel about Carric? - What are your thoughts about him? - do you like him? and why?

What do you think Carric's Condition is? - Have I explained it well enough in the dialogue to understand what's happening?

Was it at all difficult to read? - was the flow good enough for me not to do a reread? (If there is some small stuff you notice either use google docs comment function to point it out, or you can give me an example of it or tell me it deserves a re-read in a comment below).

Did the action and description of the area give you enough to imagine what was going on? - at any point were you lost at what was going on?

I hope my questions aren't too much and are easy to understand. If people simply want to view it that is fine, if you feel like commenting without critiquing that is also fine, just give me a very general idea whether you liked it or not, like a thumbs up or down.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1_7cBocA8Wp1iwYHGOqTtlJNfRmC06jSXYIeeAidoKs8/edit?usp=sharing

This is a google doc link, you should be able to view and comment on certain aspects of the chapter, up to you whether you use the google docs comment function or simply comment what you think down below. lastly thank you in advance. I hope you like it :)

Offline OdiousImp