Author Topic: Beta Reader for an article  (Read 259 times)

Offline sail

Beta Reader for an article
« on: November 30, 2020, 12:04:45 PM »
Hi,

I am a new writer and would love to get some feedback on some articles (non fiction) I have written.

- Is the flow of the article good?
- Does it make sense? Is the takeaway clear? Does it set the reader thinking, perhaps questioning set ideas?
- Is there enough information, too much, too little?
- What aspects do you like, what do you dislike?
- Is the heading captivating?

Please let me know if you can take some time to help.

Here's the links to two samples :

https://www.bitsofinsight.com/the-dilemma-of-a-mom-stay-at-home-or-go-to-work/

https://www.bitsofinsight.com/be-yourself-always-not-just-when-its-convenient/

I would be happy to provide my feedback in exchange.

Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: November 30, 2020, 12:14:01 PM by sail »

Offline Eddieism

• You can call me Ed, I'm a fantasy writer
Re: Beta Reader for an article
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2021, 08:37:24 PM »
Hi there!

I would like to start off by saying how enjoyable it was to read, it helped me I think, even though the first example was directed at mothers, and I am neither woman nor father.

First Sample:

The heading is indeed "Captivating" to say the least, I think your target audience will differently be drawn to it.

The flow is amazing, for both samples. I have Dyslexia, and even though I will always have difficulty reading; the flow in your writing was easy to understand, so I can only imagine how easy it would be if I didn't have such a disability that affects my reading and more.

Early in I am confronted with the thought of how men and women have different societal roles, the roles priorities women to nurture their child more so than to provide for and to be successful in work (whether it be to provide for a family or for self).