Author Topic: Manipulator (Start of chapter 1) - Feedback Wanted  (Read 181 times)

Offline gra_200

Manipulator (Start of chapter 1) - Feedback Wanted
« on: June 19, 2020, 12:23:14 PM »
Hey, I'm new to this and am looking for some honest feedback on the first part of chapter of the novel I'm writing. You don't need to know much before reading, really only that it's set in a place called the Manipulator's Realm where everyone have these 'abilities' such as telekinesis. The word count of the following is 1193 and genre is fantasy. This chapter is in the POV of the character Autumn Night.

I woke up screaming.
It was a raw sound that ripped from my throat and tore across the room. The noises were muffled almost immediately as I shot up, clamping my hands across my mouth. The next few seconds were an utter silence, somehow more deafening than the screams. It was as if I’d forgotten how to breathe. I dropped my hands down, they clutched my duvet as my shoulders started to heave up and down, my breath coming out sharp but unlike before I just couldn’t get enough air. It was as if I’d been running. Running - trying to escape something, or someone. I wasn’t sure why I thought that, maybe it was the voice that whispered at the back of my mind. So familiar yet strange at the same time. It repeated the same word over and over again, that much I knew. But, why the importance of understanding what it said, why it was important that I had to remember my dream - why I needed to remember, that escaped me.
There was a noise to my left and another, this time a tapping sound as a dim light flickered on. Then footsteps, making their way across to my bed. I didn’t look at her.
“Autumn, calm down, you’re safe.”