Author Topic: Salem, Ch. 1 and 2  (Read 162 times)

Offline Krispy915

Salem, Ch. 1 and 2
« on: March 04, 2020, 04:20:19 PM »
Newbie here, but very interested in honest critique.  Thank you to all that take the time.

Chapter 1

There they were again, swirling around my head like some sort of a tornado.  They came and went like the breeze.  The voices were mixed, some not even in English, yet somehow, I could understand them.  There were those that traveled through me, soft, like wisps of smoke and others more urgent and aggressive and most especially, loud.
   Iíve been hearing them almost since I could remember, three years old or so-The voices of the dead.  In the beginning, before I understood what I was listening to, I wasnít bothered.  I didnít understand that I was the only one hearing them.  They kept me company in my solitary world.  In my small family my idiosyncrasies were accepted and almost ignored.  I was the only child in my household and being a first-time parent, my mother didnít know any better.  She tolerated my differences, until she began bringing me to the homes of cousins and friends and could see that my behavior was different than the other children I was around.   I didnít play, I watched. 

The first time I could remember it happening, I was about three years old.  I found myself sitting under my grandmotherís buffet table in her dining room.  No one seemed to even notice I was there, just quietly letting the world go by, playing with the fringes on my grandmotherís oriental rug.   I heard a meow and then a purr.  I knew it was from my cat, but I couldnít see him.  It startled me at first, I kept looking around me, but then I just calmed down and waited.  I started to feel him there in my lap and it comforted me.  After a few moments, I heard my mother crying.  She had just come in from outdoors and announced that she found my cat, dead in the front yard.  But I smiled.