Author Topic: Fantasy/Mixed-Genre Excerpt (682 words)  (Read 547 times)

Offline lanettespc

Fantasy/Mixed-Genre Excerpt (682 words)
« on: October 12, 2018, 06:14:15 PM »
[author's note: Hi! This is my first time posting in this board, and I'm quite nervous. I'm only 17, so I hope your critiques aren't too harshly phrased. Please don't let that stop you from being honest! I'm sorry. The excerpt below is from a book I'm writing, and I hope to gain feedback. It's not the first chapter, but it's one of the first chapters. I'm reluctant to share the principal storyline for now, but she isn't the protagonist! She is one of the main characters. Um... I'm sorry I don't know how to introduce this. Here I go anyway.]

Seventeen-year-old Mela languidly crammed down a frugal breakfast of microworms. She was still half-asleep, her schedule for the morning unoccupied.

The sound of webbed toes pounding on the ingress of her castle jolted her into a more responsive state. At her doorstep was a newfangled Messenger Bird.

The Bird opened its beak to say, “Hello! My name is Amaranta!” Mela’s eyes widened in stupefaction—not because the Bird was talking, but rather the fact that it was flying. She’d never seen flying birds before; the aquatic society’s feathered population comprised only penguins. ‘Oh,’ she mused, ‘the science of magic!

“I have a message for you sent by the Philosopher.” The Bird emitted the message in a perfect duplicate of the Philosopher’s tottering voice. “‘I have momentous news. By the time the potter has turned her earthenware into shards, you know where you must be.’”

The potter was a bronze-skinned lady named Lualhati who lived on a secluded islet. Although usually alone, she never seemed forlorn. She wore a straw hat, adorned the walls of her hut with seashells from her diving excursions, and played airy music on her flute.