Author Topic: Beginning Writer  (Read 1017 times)

Offline Akhtar

Beginning Writer
« on: August 14, 2018, 03:59:49 PM »
Hello everyone,
I am new to internet forums,and I am mainly trying to find people who are able to offer substantial criticism for my writings. I am also attempting to come out of a hiatus from writing but don't where to start. If there is someone who can impart advice on how to overcome writer's block then please do so.

Offline JameelaM

• Administrator
Re: Beginning Writer
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2018, 07:52:53 AM »
Hi Akhtar,

Welcome to MWC and welcome back to writing!

There are quite a number of resources online that offer advice on how to overcome writers block, ultimately it will come down to what works best for you. Are you reading any books that inspire you to write or writing out the worst drafts possible just to get something started? One of the biggest contributors to writers block is overthinking or thinking that what we have is not good enough and perhaps the first draft isn't but at least you're writing something :)

Beyond that there are options such influencing the brain, there are a lot of scientific studies that show the brain operates at various frequencies as it goes thru tasks throughout the day. You can influence your mind and spark creative ideas by listening to binaural beats within the frequency spectrum you need. 

Check out this Writers Block Audio program if you want to learn more

It may help everyone to better understand the challenges you're facing if you share some background on why you stopped writing.

Hope these details help, let us know if you need more suggestions or ideas to beat your writers block.

J TETSTONE

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2018, 08:40:01 PM »
Welcome to the site..... When I get writer's block I put what I'm doing away.... relax and ponder what I've been writing. Stress and worry about what one is writing can setup temporary writer's block. Good luck with your writing.    Jan

Offline Mark T