Author Topic: New Member - Question about quoted materials  (Read 1187 times)

Offline Mascutt

New Member - Question about quoted materials
« on: August 25, 2018, 11:37:49 AM »
Hello everyone,

I just joined and, like probably everyone else, I am writing.  I have been working on my novel, physically writing it for three years, researching for 35 years.  My work is done and currently in the hands of my editor.  But a question came up which I realized I didnít have the answer to.  And I havenít had much luck in finding the answer online.  So thought Iíd try here.

My novel is about the women of Ancient Rome.  Quite specifically, the four women who were thrust onto the world stage as the result of the murder of Germanicus.  It is historical fiction - which means itís my take on it - while attempting to be as faithful as possible to the actual history and timelines.  Since this was a subject the whole empire was involved in, much like when JFK was assassinated - there are many sources from the ancient historians as to what was said - especially during the trial of his murder suspects.

My question is, if anyone knows the answer, are these words allowed to be placed in the mouth of my characters if the historians from two thousand years ago said they were spoken?  Or does even ancient history belong to someone in the form of copyright?

Does anyone know the answer to this?  Any insight someone might be able to give me would be so appreciated.

Thank you

J TETSTONE

Re: New Member - Question about quoted materials
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2018, 12:18:16 PM »
I hope this helps you find the answer to your question.   Have a good day.  jt

This is what I found when I researched the subject of what is and what is not copyrighted: [This is in the US.]