Author Topic: 3rd person & 1st person combo  (Read 88 times)

Offline TomMullettUK

• View Profile
3rd person & 1st person combo
« on: June 25, 2018, 10:08:07 AM »
Hello Hello.

I'm currently hard at work on a story that I've been working on for the past two years.
It's about two characters whose stories are told alongside each other.
They never actual meet, however as things progress, their actions and decisions influence each in quite extraordinary ways.

I've been considering an idea for how to present the two main characters, and it involves a combination of 1st and 3rd person.

The first character would be presented via a more traditional 3rd person approach. I've written a great deal for this character and I am happy with the progress and how his world is shaping up.

The second character is a man that is incredibly Blockedytical and reflective. I have already written a couple of chapters for him in the 3rd person, however I'm not quite sure it's suiting his character... but an idea came to me yesterday: his entire story could be told in the 1st person via reflective diary entries. This would allow me to apply a lot more detail and attention to his thoughts and feelings about the world, people he interacts with + his 'story' as things progress.... however one of my concerns is that this could potentially feel a little hollow, especially with regards to the reader getting a 'feel' for the world in which he exists.... although maybe this detail can be supplemented by the other character whose story is told in 3rd person.

So my main questions are:

Do you think the mixture of 1st and 3rd person would sit well together?
- is the contrast interesting or too jarring?

Does the 1st person 'reflective' approach offer enough depth for a main character?

« Last Edit: June 25, 2018, 10:24:39 AM by TomMullettUK »

Offline Mike_Cobley

• View Profile
Re: 3rd person & 1st person combo
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2018, 11:52:58 AM »