Author Topic: HELP  (Read 3239 times)

Offline Aly

HELP
« on: February 22, 2006, 10:02:01 AM »
I have the idea but I don't know how to go about it. I would be most grateful for any suggestions about how to write this book.

Since 1974 my husband and I have lived in almost 90 abodes - houses, flats, boats, caravans, pubs all over the UK as well as North & South Cyprus, Crete, Cos to name but a few!!! We have had a wide variety of businesses & jobs and lots of ups and downs. And with all the characters we've met along the way, I feel sure I have the ingredients for a great book.

Do I write a purely factual account or would it be better to make it into a novel based on a true story.

I admit to being a complete novice so I think I'll be using this Writers Circle quite a lot.

Any comments will be greatly appreciated. Thank you. Aly
« Last Edit: February 22, 2006, 02:36:25 PM by Symphony »

Carter Stelling

Re: HELP
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2006, 12:25:26 PM »
My opinion would be to make it a novel based on a true story. Because people love reading stories for entertainment, they read factual accounts mainly for education. So think of whether you want to entertain... or educate... if you decide to entertain, don't forget to throw in a lot of the adventure and romance you experienced... that's what makes a story truly exciting, because they are the deepest desires of every human heart.

Offline Symphony

• Put the kettle on
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2006, 02:45:27 PM »
Hello Aly - and welcome to the site from your forum moderators Nick, Aelf, Suzie, Lin and myself.

Apologies - first of all - for changing the colour of your message, but I actually couldn't read it - the pink was too faint (some of these colours work better than others for writing on the screen!)