Author Topic: First screenplay ever. Need some critique.  (Read 1351 times)

Offline afirsttimefilmmaker

• View Profile
First screenplay ever. Need some critique.
« on: June 09, 2017, 07:09:03 PM »
I am a first time filmmaker, hence the username. I am writing my first screenplay and it probably won't be the best thing. I would just like some help on how I should write it. The screenplay is about a family who gets haunted after a nearby family wounds up mysteriously dead. This is just my opening scene- I have about 60 pages. I feel like I ramble on and on and I don't get too into detail. I feel like I'm doing the bare minimum and that I will change my screenplay as I begin filming. Here it goes.

FADE IN:
AN OLD APARTMENT BUILDING, MID 60S-EARLY 70S. VERY WORN OUT AND FRESHLY PAINTED. TAN COLORED WITH DARK AUBURN HIGHLIGHTS ON DOORS AND WINDOWS.BIRDS CHIRPING IN THE EARLY MORNING.
INT. APARTMENT OF JOHNSON FAMILY. LIVING ROOM
The father (Mike Johnson) opening the living room door. Heís tall, dark hair, mid 30s to early 40s. Wearing steel toe boots, gray jeans, and a black shirt. He walks in to see his wife (Susan Johnson) sitting on the brown couch watching tv.
MIKE
This job is just killing me! (he throws his keys and wallet on the shelf)(he looks at the tv) Whatís going on?
SUSAN
Theyíre saying that theres something going on in our neighborhood..(pause for news)

On Newscast:
MARY WALTERS
Breaking news: Another family has been found dead in an apparent murder-suicide. Police say that there was no forced entry. Neighbors have said that this is just tragic. Take a listen.
ASHLEY JENSON
The Garcias were such a great family. They would come for dinner every Saturday night. I went to high school with Laura. She was such a sweetheart and married a great man. And her kids.. They were just angels. I canít believe something terrifying like this happened.
MARY WALTERS