Author Topic: Zumba and Alice  (Read 1096 times)

Offline R. L. Copple

• R. L. Copple's Author Web Site
Zumba and Alice
« on: December 30, 2016, 12:41:12 PM »
No, my mom, to my knowledge, never did Zumba. Rather, I'm squeezing two subjects into this post, but there is a connection.

On the Zumba front, I've been doing that class, around 3-4 times a week, for almost 2 years (beginning of March will make two years). It has been one of my most productive efforts to deal with the progression of Parkinson's Disease of which I was diagnosed with back in 2013. I tell a general outline of my story and how I'm moving to a new stage--becoming a certified Zumba and Zumba Gold instructor--on my blog: https://rickspdjourney.blogspot.com/2016/12/zumba-for-2017.html

Note: I do have a link toward the end of that blog post where people can donate to my goal, as I wouldn't be able to afford it otherwise. But no hard sale here. You certainly don't have to donate to go read the blog if you're interested in doing so. But just so you're aware. And of course if you want to donate, I'm not going to stop you!  :P

But this is where my mom comes into the picture. Because I just had today one of your members who is also one of my friends on Facebook and had seen my post there, make a donation in memory of my mom, Alice Kiker, aka CountryGal on this forum (if I'm remembering correctly). As most of you know, she passed away this past July due to liver cancer.

This has been a strange holiday season, not having her around. It's just not the same. Additionally, it reminded me that tomorrow would have been her birthday. If I have the year straight when she was born, she'd be turning 72 this year. She definitely left a hole, as I know she has here as well.