Author Topic: Bio, EEEK!  (Read 4738 times)

Offline heidi52

Bio, EEEK!
« on: May 11, 2016, 03:11:45 PM »
One of my stories made it into the final 10 in a flash fiction competition and now I've been asked to submit a photo and a bio.
I've never done one before. Unless resumes count.

I've been looking around to see what others have done and most I see are in 3rd person. "Sally has done blah blah."

Is there a rule that I can't do it in 1st? "I have done so and so."  ???

Is it ok to post it here and get some feedback?

Offline Laura H

Re: Bio, EEEK!
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2016, 03:22:45 PM »
Congratulations!

Bio's are daunting, aren't they?  :o I've only ever seen them in 3rd person, and that's the way I did my own. No reason you can't post your bio for feedback.

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” ― Maya Angelou

“Don't be like the rest of them, darling.” ― Eudora Welty

Offline Vogel

« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2016, 06:42:31 PM »
Third person generally looks more professional, I think, Heidi. I saw them in first in an anthology where my short story was accepted, and I will say, that I thought they stuck out like a sore thumb. The general rule, I think, is to write them in 3rd.

But that's just my opinion, so use or lose. Congrats and good luck!

Artemis Quark

« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2016, 07:48:17 PM »
Congrats on making the final ten, Heidi.

Third is more 'professional' but also more distant. If you want to connect with readers on a more personal level, first is better IMO. Depends on the genre too. Not sure about a FF contest but if your long term goal is to generate interest in you as a writer of, e.g., clever horror fiction with surprising plot twists, I think you could separate yourself from the masses with a first person greeting aimed at your target reader type.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2016, 08:51:19 PM by Artemis Quark »

Jo Bannister

« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2016, 04:04:15 AM »