Author Topic: Opening scene to new screenplay.  (Read 5193 times)

Offline BaileyNeve

Opening scene to new screenplay.
« on: September 15, 2015, 08:28:54 PM »
Hi, guys! Was wondering if perhaps you guys could critique this for me. Not any context to be given as it's the first scene of the film. Any help is greatly appreciated! And sorry about the formatting. I know it's painful on the eyes, but I'm still learning.
Thanks!

FADE IN:

INT. LAVISH DINER. NIGHT
The 1910's. A forty year old man sits by himself at a small circular table covered with a red and gold tablecloth and an endless assortment of exquisite-looking food. He is CHRISTOPHE. He sits in a massively colorful and extravagantly large dining room. The room is decorated with a seemingly infinite amount of flowers. The ceiling is painted similar to the Sistine. A truly remarkable and elegant establishment.
There is no one else in the restaurant save a lone cook who stands fifty feet behind Christophe at the doors that lead into the kitchen. He is the owner of the restaurant; his name is ALPHONSE.
Christophe takes his knife and fork and cuts himself off a small piece of Eclair. He takes a bite, smiles, and pushes the dish aside. He grabs his glass, and takes a quick sip of wine. A pained look sweeps across his face. He raises his hand, as if to take an oath, and summons the Alphonse with two fingers.
Alphonse power-walks with his hands behind his back. He takes his place to Christophe's left.

ALPHONSE
(french accent)
Yes, Sir Christophe?

CHRISTOPHE
(english accent)
Well, I must say, I'm very impressed. The Polet Aigu Tarragon is exceptional. The Cordon Bleu is sublime. The mussels will, I'm sure, be the topic of damn near every conversation regarding shellfish, but you must rid yourself and your restaurant of that God-awful wine.

ALPHONSE
What's wrong with the wine, Sir?

CHRISTOPHE
To put is bluntly, it tastes quite like ass.

ALPHONSE
I see...

Christophe detects the disappointment in his voice.