Author Topic: The Wild Isles, (538), Young Adult Novel Extract  (Read 3532 times)

Offline CharlotteJ

The Wild Isles, (538), Young Adult Novel Extract
« on: August 14, 2015, 12:50:43 PM »
Hello, I'm a young writer looking for some advice on my work! The book, briefly, is a coming of age 'growing up' novel. It follows the experiences of a girl named Isabella Cage, living in a seaside town in industrialised (run-down) Northern England. When her father emigrates, following her sister Nora, she is left alone in her home town of Sipling. The content of the book gets quite dark later on, tackling drug addiction, depression, sexuality and hedonistic and self destructive behaviour. The story follows Isabella and her group of friends through the summer in her first person perspective. I'm extremely nervous about this, but would be so grateful of feedback on this extract, thank you!  :)

Sipling is our world. On this beach we ran, as kids, up and down the pebbles scattering them in ricochet. Hush... the sea. With raw grazed knees and pink cheeks, we built castles with the thick wet sand. We skipped stones in the calm of the sunset. We splashed through the waves and laughed and bent double in hysterics, as Dad shouted, about how cold the water was. Dad hated swimming. I remember, the sea would swell and spit and we would dance and prance through the waves in bright suits. Costumes with characters; Mini, Goofy and the gang. We were mad on it. Grace was the sort of little girl that would be afraid of everything.  Grace used to live next door and we grew up side by side. We spent most of our time at her Nanaís, up the street and round the corner from home. We used to play for days in her Nanaís lush and landscaped garden; and watch the kids channel on TV, that I didnít have back home with Dad and Nora.