Author Topic: Publishers  (Read 10064 times)

Offline 13angelface94

Publishers
« on: July 10, 2015, 05:23:37 PM »
Hi all! I am a hopeful author and have looked for publishers. Unfortunately all that I have found are vanity publishers. Google has not helped my search. Does anyone have any publishers that they have enjoyed working with?

Offline thatollie

Re: Publishers
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2015, 05:59:37 PM »
Well, you might want to be more specific. You haven't mentioned what kind of piece you're trying to sell to a publisher.

Also, you may want to try the Writers and Artists Yearbook.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1408192454
Never make a decision standing up.

Offline CodyWright77

« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2015, 09:11:24 PM »
I'm guessing you want to try your luck with a large publishing house?  If so, I've read a few blogs on the necessity of finding a good agent, and what all that entails.  If I can find the link to it, I'll post it up here.  But yeah, publishing the traditional way is frightening territory for me.  I barely can run a public blog!  ;D

Lin

« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2015, 04:01:58 AM »
The way I did this was to join a society of my genre and get in with the in crowd.  The other alternative is to buy a copy of the Writers' and Artists' Yearbook and the third option is to Google your genre i.e. Romance publishers, Crime publishers.  It all depends on your genre and what each publisher is looking for. There are plenty of publishers out there and again it depends if you are looking for an Indie publisher or something a bit more ambitious.   eg Harper Collins etc.  Most of the big publishing houses are only approached via an agent.