Author Topic: Introduction  (Read 3087 times)

Offline Ann

• Fritheir Arts
Introduction
« on: October 25, 2006, 06:20:13 AM »
Dear Fellow Writers

I'm introducing myself, per forum etiquette, as a new member of my Writers Circle. As a teenager, many aeons ago, I would write short stories and send them off, in longhand, for publication.  I didn't have any success, but at 14 it never crossed my mind that a comic for girls which published stories about ballerinas and horseriding, (it was called The Bunty), was unlikely to publish my science fiction story about a tree which turns out to be a being from another galaxy.  :-[  Later in life, I went in for painting.   

Coming back to writing has been a bit of an unexpected shock and I never thought I'd be trying to write fiction again. Enough!  It's a long story ... but I'm here now because I've just skimmed through Nick Daws' Mini Course on How to Write a Book in 28 Days.  I am a VERY SLOW writer. Even after just skimming the course, however, I found myself writing a 750 word essay (for a competition) very fast!  It's a miracle!  Two days work in fact, which is super-fast for this old tortoise! So I've bought the CD Rom of the complete course and am eagerly awaiting its receipt.

I'm looking forward to participating in this forum.  I doubt I'll be of much use to anybody else, but I'll try.

:)

Ann

An artist cannot fail; it is a success to be one. (Charles Horton Cooley)

Offline *Lorraine*

• The sun always shines in Cognito-by-the-Sea
Re: Introduction
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2006, 06:30:50 AM »
Welcome Ann

I'm still quite a newbie here myself and I'm old enough to remember Bunty!  :)

Glad to hear that you feel inspired to write again.  You've come to the right place to post and read a wide variety of material.

Looking forward to seeing you around on the boards.  Have fun!

Lorraine
( ) ( )
(>'.'<)
(")  (") 

Rabbit Welfare Fund : Because Rabbits Deserve Better

Offline Alice, a Country Gal