Author Topic: Synopsis - just for starters.  (Read 5027 times)

Offline *Lorraine*

• The sun always shines in Cognito-by-the-Sea
Synopsis - just for starters.
« on: October 13, 2006, 12:21:00 PM »
Hi there

I'm a newbie to MWC and this is my first topic.  I wrote a section of a screenplay as part of the coursework for A Level Film Studies (my adult ed centre didn't have any filming equipment) and I would value your opinions before I go any further with it.  I'm just posting the synopsis for now.

Cheers, Lorraine.

It is early autumn on the Somerset Levels, half way between the Mendip Hills and the sea.  An elderly man is sitting on a garden bench outside a remote cottage surrounded by a flat countryside of small fields, drainage ditches and stunted willows.  He is Joseph Rossiter, the ex-railway crossing keeper, a straightforward, self-contained man who has spent his life quietly doing his duty; with six decades of experience he contemplates the links between his life and the natural world around him.

He’s watching the receding figure of his grandson Finn whose imminent departure for university has provoked Joseph’s immediate thoughts and recollections.  He shares his knowledge of the past with us and uses his surroundings to illustrate the temporary nature of human endeavour.  Joseph has learnt to accept and adapt to changes, both physically and emotionally.  His narration, as it travels from the present to ancient times and back again, reveals his deep affinity with the Levels as he reviews the impact it has had on him as a man.

Tales of the Withies and Rhynes are the thoughts of a man who has lived his life beside the willows and ditches of this unique landscape and learnt that ‘all things must pass’.
( ) ( )
(>'.'<)
(")  (") 

Rabbit Welfare Fund : Because Rabbits Deserve Better

PaulW

Re: Synopsis - just for starters.
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2006, 02:22:50 PM »