Author Topic: My poem advanced to semi-final round (Eber & Wein Publishing) Legit or scam?  (Read 47461 times)

Offline Shannen Wrass

• View Profile
I received a letter from Eber & Wein Publishing (50 E High St. New Freedom PA). It states the poem I mailed in ("Time Out To Cry") has advanced to semi-final round of National Amateur Poetry Competition. I'm to fill out the "Official Contest Entry Form" & return it. Says it offers cash prizes.
Is this a legit company?
It states: "As a semi-finalist you've earned the opportunity to be published & we'd like to feature your poem in upcoming series "This Time Around."
It sounds like I've been published... I have very little knowledge about how this business works. Does anyone know their reputation?
I'm extremely excited, but I don't want to be a fool either :/
Thanks for your help

Offline wanderer

• View Profile
    • Western Wood Artist
LAter, Bill
http://www.westernwoodartist.com
http://www.southwestwoodcrafts.com

Offline Laura H

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
I'm sorry, Shannen. Everything I've seen indicates this is a vanity press.

Best to find out on the front end, right?
“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” ― Maya Angelou

“Don't be like the rest of them, darling.” ― Eudora Welty

Offline 510bhan

• So many jobs to do . . .
    • View Profile
Whoops -- Eber & Wein don't look too good in that article/blog. ::)
Ambassador for NI. [without portfolio] 
http://www.lulu.com/shop/mwc/as-the-kettle-wolf-whistled/paperback/product-21544909.html

Offline Shannen Wrass

• View Profile
What's a "Vanity Press?" Would it hurt to mail in the form but not send any money? A few people on that blog responded that it was legit, and a few others claimed it was a scam. 

Offline wanderer

• View Profile
    • Western Wood Artist
What's a "Vanity Press?"

You have to pay to get anything published.
LAter, Bill

Offline DJIsaac

• Endings leave a bitter taste.
    • View Profile