Author Topic: Finding a publisher in the US  (Read 868 times)

Lin

Finding a publisher in the US
« on: October 27, 2013, 07:53:45 AM »
As a British author I am reasonably set up for a British market and have sold some books in Holland as well. For me that's not a problem.  I have come across some British authors who have USA publishers. I am led to believe that the chance of being published in the US is good.

I have often wondered how they cope with their royalty payments and general book sales. I wonder how much they lose on the exchange rates and so on.  Many small publishers are advertising for submissions in the US and I know that the royalties are not very high with the small publishers, so may I assume that as a British author it is not worth pursuing a US publisher? Losing on the rates per book can add up.

I have seen a couple of authors who have complained about this problem but for me I didn't actually go there this time around, but for future reference it would be useful to have comments on the subject.

Lin  :)

Offline Alice, a Country Gal

• http://www.writestreet.com/writestree
  • Hello from Texas
    • Alice's Hide Away
Re: Finding a publisher in the US
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2013, 04:22:29 PM »
I could be wrong, but I believe your publisher would be able to help you with all the questions and perhaps have a contact with an American publisher to get the ball rolling.
MWC Charity Publications.
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight>
The universe is made of stories, not of atoms. -Muriel Rukeyser, poet and activist (15 Dec 1913-1980)

R. L. Copple's: http://www.rlcopple.com/

I will not let anyone walk through my mind with their dirty feet.
-Mohandas K. Gandhi

Offline 510bhan

• So many jobs to do . . .
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2013, 04:42:53 PM »