Author Topic: How to convey accent in dialogue?  (Read 3397 times)

Offline bri h

Re: How to convey accent in dialogue?
« Reply #15 on: May 13, 2013, 06:08:34 AM »
I have it on dvd. I studied it for Eng at school. B

I suppose for accents and location, a simple "why aye man." Would denote a geordie.

"Wees keys are these," for a mackum(sunderland).

"m'duck" for someone from notts.

Fare thee well Skip. We're all 'Keening' now. xbx

Offline 2par

« Reply #16 on: May 13, 2013, 01:43:06 PM »
British English is so weird.
But then, so is American English.
Ain't it grand?

Offline Gyppo

• Esteemed Contributor
  • I've been writing ever since I realised I could.
« Reply #17 on: May 13, 2013, 04:10:53 PM »
It's a sad fact that something which is perfectly understandable and enjoyable when you're when you're listening to a performance by a storyteller in a pub can be a nightmare to read, or worse still cause you to lose the flow and stop reading.

Printed and spoken English are very often two almost totally different beasts.  As others have said, a hint to prime the reader so they mentally provide the accent themselves is usually enough.  This also has the advantage they will use an accent they find intelligible, even of it's not quite what you as the writer had in mind.

I find myself reading stuff about or by country folks in what I call 'standard rural' with the exception of county-specific words which keep the specific area in mind.

For entertainment, and possibly education, you will find below an example of an 'over the top' attempt to get the New Forest accent into print.

I thought it was the bees knees when I first wrote it around thirty years ago, having laboured mightily to catch every nuance of the speech of the old man who told me the tale.  I didn't believe the old rogue, but I enjoyed the tale enough to buy him a pint.