Author Topic: The Writer Prologue (841 words)  (Read 1694 times)

Offline Paige Lollie

• View Profile
The Writer Prologue (841 words)
« on: January 28, 2012, 09:26:43 PM »
This is the introduction/prologue to the fantasy-series I am trying to complete and eventually, hopefully, have published. I was hoping to hear what others take from it; to see if it is something interesting, something bad, or something in-between. Advice is more than welcomed!

This is my first time posting a New Topic on the site, so let me know if I do something wrong! Don't want to make any enemies :)

--
The Writer
Book I: War of the Horizons

“Once upon a time, war was the dream of the people.” The voice carried around the room, sounding more beautiful than any song. Her tone was smooth but coated with wisdom that could only be gained from an experienced life. It was like a vibrant story written on old, worn parchment paper. “It was once an exciting game that citizens of all classes took part of. Simple farm boys became heroes which epic poems are meant for. Soldiers were the bringers of gold and bread. And the kings' desires only brought about prosper.”

The small child with golden freckles on her skin listened with silent awe. Her teacher's voice was mesmerizing and spoke of the past like a fairy-tale. It kept her rooted to her bed and her heart pounding against her chest. No history text could ever have a child like her react in such a fashion.