Author Topic: A writer returning to the writing world  (Read 1421 times)

Offline REShirley

• Coffee and a keyboard...the good life.
    • REShirley Freelance Writing Services
A writer returning to the writing world
« on: December 23, 2011, 08:13:15 PM »
Hello all,

I'm a professional freelance writer who took an extended leave to become a fulltime caregiver for a couple of years.  I'm recently widowed and have decided to get back in the game.

Of all the things I've learned over the years one of the most important is that freelance writing is a lonely profession and networking with other writers is a must...if only to keep your sanity.  With that fact in mind, the first web stop on my return trip (other than the writer's jobs sites) was Writer's Digest.com and their annual 101 best web sites for writers.  I found you there and signed up.

I've just spent the last couple of hours surfing the site and reading tons of posts.  I'm rapidly getting the impression that I'm going to have more fun reading than writing this time around.

Prior to my disappearance from the writing world the majority of my work was feature articles/op-ed/essays for print publications and a few online markets.  I also did a two year stint as a staff reporter for a midsized daily newspaper (nothing like writing news to kill your creativity.)  I also taught live writer's workshops for two different online writer's forums (both are apparently now defunct...a lot has changed in the writing world in my absence.)

While nonfiction articles are (or were) my bread and butter, I also dabble in poetry and fiction when I have time or when sudden inspiration strikes me, whichever comes first.

I'm looking forward to reading and posting a lot more on your boards and getting to know all of you, but I intend to make a living at this game again so I won't promise daily visits.
"LIfe is too important to be taken seriously." - Oscar Wilde

www.reshirley.x10.mx

Offline Skip Slocum