Author Topic: Are social networks useful?  (Read 1349 times)

Offline Writersblock02

Are social networks useful?
« on: November 27, 2011, 05:35:23 PM »
I've heard from a few people that using social networks like Twitter and Facebook are useful for promoting your work and finding out more about what agents are accepting.

I've started a twitter and have begun networking with other agents, but I'm trying to see if it really serves a purpose?

Twitter: @Writersblock02

Offline Joe Mynhardt

• Tales from The Darkest Depths
    • Joe Mynhardt
Re: Are social networks useful?
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2011, 07:17:13 AM »
Very helpful. So far through Facebook I've met and chatted with some of my favorite writers; I met a producer in Hollywood, who I can chat with as an old friend, and a published comic book writer helping me with my first collection; I've also made a lot of people aware that I'm a writer and I've met a lot of folks who enjoy my stories and blog posts; and I can easily keep up to date with current novels coming out or market events, blogs, workshops and anthologies.

Sometimes editors and best seller writers share some information and lessons.

It's a foundation I wouldn't have had otherwise, especially for me down here in SA. Not a lot of convensions and stuff happening down here.
Founder and CEO of Crystal Lake Publishing - Tales from the Darkest Depths.
Two time Bram Stoker Award nominated editor publishing only the best in Dark Fiction. Check out Crystal Lake's books and grab two free titles by joining the newsletter.

Lin

« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2011, 07:39:05 AM »
I find it very useful and you can follow me if you wish

@itslinhere

Lin x

Offline thatollie

« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2011, 07:39:52 AM »
I think it depends on how comfortable you are using it. Some people do get useful contacts and information from these websites, others don't.
Never make a decision standing up.

Lin

« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2011, 07:43:43 AM »