Author Topic: At what point do you call yourself a writer?  (Read 3956 times)

Offline deborahowen

• Goal: Help each writer reach their full potential
    • Creative Writing Institute
At what point do you call yourself a writer?
« on: August 14, 2011, 04:51:25 AM »
I did a blog on this once and folks had strong thoughts on it.

A writer is one who writes - so... is a new unpublished writer a writer?
Or do you think a person can be called a writer when he/she has been
published in a newspaper?
Or is that not good enough? Does it require writing a book and selling it the traditional way?
What about writing a book and self-pubbling? Is that person "a writer"?

In your mind, where is that division? Personally, I vote for the first one. I don't
believe a writer has to be published anywhere to call himself/herself a writer.
Many years ago one of my lessons told me to say aloud, "I am a writer," three
times every day for a week. That little exercise did a lot to make me believe in
myself.

How do you cast your vote?
Deborah Owen :)
CEO & Founder
Creative Writing Institute
http://www.creativewritinginstitute.com
Writing tutor/public speaker/editor/ghostwriter
Free tips at http://www.deborahowen.wordpress.com

Offline Gyppo

• Esteemed Contributor
  • I've been writing ever since I realised I could.
Re: At what point do you call yourself a writer?
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2011, 05:11:55 AM »
Once you realise it's a part of you.  Not just what you do for a living or even a hobby, but an essential part part of what makes you tick.

Up until then you're just a person who writes, in much the same way as you can be a person who drives a car, or works in a bakery.  But once you instinctively identify yourself as a Writer, Driver, Baker, or whatever your 'thing' is, with an implied capital, then you've arrived.