Author Topic: My Pitch Please Read And Reply  (Read 10661 times)

Offline 510bhan

• So many jobs to do . . .
Re: My Pitch Please Read And Reply
« Reply #15 on: October 12, 2010, 02:52:27 PM »
Hi I'm not a professional but the way I read it Here is my pitch. Mainly what i will be saying. [sic] I took it to mean this was the idea, not the finished article and that the author wants tips on how to improve it. The points made in other posts are valid..it needs to be shorter, sharper and grammatically correct. I presume you felt that you were giving a summary/synopsis so that those offering advice would have at least half a notion of the content so that they could offer pointers to you.

Try writing it to a word limit, say 200 words and see what is absolutely essential. Find a way of condensing ideas to express them.

Offline John Yamrus

« Reply #16 on: October 12, 2010, 03:01:16 PM »
you're probably wrong.  a pitch is part of an introductory letter or correspondence to an agent or publisher.  the "pitch" is a brief description of the property.  in it, you want to make the book or idea or whatever sound as interesting as possible, so as to pique  their interest in the project.  i said it before and i'll say it again, in my days as an editor and publisher this pitch wouldn't cut it, and i'd not waste any more of my time by reading the manuscript.  i know my thoughts may sound harsh, but if someone is really interested in getting good at this, the only way to do it is to hear the truth and to learn from it.
john yamrus
Since 1970 John's published 2 novels, 18 books of poetry, and had more than 1,300 poems published in mags around the world.   His new book, (his 20TH) called CAN'T STOP NOW! is available here:

http://www.epicrites.org/

Patron

« Reply #17 on: October 14, 2010, 04:42:47 AM »
Ok.... John