Author Topic: If I Were A Bird--a cnf/memoir. Excerpt, 1894 words of 3669  (Read 830 times)

Offline aureliajean

If I Were A Bird--a cnf/memoir. Excerpt, 1894 words of 3669
« on: January 19, 2011, 01:32:37 PM »
I am considering submitting this to some creative nonfiction/memoir/essay contests.  I'd like to know what you think of both the writing and the subject/its treatment.   Ellipses, obviously, represent edits for brevity.  Full text gladly available to anyone who has the time. Please be gentle, I am not a professional.  Ahem, here goes:

If I were a bird, I'd be a rare one that can only eat fruits that don't grow here, and whose wings are not made to beat these skies.  I probably wouldn't be more beautiful than any other, but probably more fragile, and less resilient.  I might be skittish and prone to fits of melancholy, difficult to keep in captivity for temperament and a dearth of available mates.

Not only would it be nigh upon impossible to locate and entrap the male of my species, but he would be of volatile character, equally averse to captivity, aloof and exacting in his tastes.  Whether either of us would survive an encounter with our egos in tact would be anyone's guess, torn feathers and bald spots possible, cold hostility and simple rejection likely.  Ornithologists would cringe inwardly while reading journal articles about various efforts to unite us, and for god only knows what reason, prove that more of us could be made.