Author Topic: A short sketch...  (Read 11131 times)

Offline sonofdenis

• I'm an experienced beginner
A short sketch...
« on: September 29, 2009, 09:27:36 PM »
Hi there.  I'm having a go at writing some short sketches for radio and TV.  This is a very quick one I rattled off this evening.  Just wondering what people thought.  It's about 2-3 mins long (500 ish words) and is supposed to be funny.  Well ... I hope so.

Youíll be pleased to know you havenít died today

A short sketch

Characters:
Ian: A female call-centre worker who is bored but efficient.
Justin:  An elderly and slightly confused chap

GRAMS: BECAUSE Ė THE BEATLES (INTRUMENTAL INTRO PLAYED IN A LOOP THROUGH SKETCH)

SFX: PHONE RINGS TWICE.  CLICK AS CALL IS ANSWERED

IAN:                                                          Good morning and welcome to the Heaven hotline.  Calls are monitored at all times thanks to new omnipotent technology.  My name is Ian Ö how can I help you?

JUSTI N:                                                  (FLUSTERED) Yes.  Hello.  Er Ö did you say your name is Ian?

IAN:                                                          I did sir, yes.

JUSTIN:                                                   Only you sound a little Ö ladyish?

IAN:                                                          Oh, thankyou sir.  How may I help you.

JUSTIN:                                                   Oh, yes.  (CLEARS THROAT).  Iíve found myself in this room here.  And Ö I Ö er Ö found a phone and this numberÖ 

IAN:                                                         Good.  Yes.  Godís waiting room.

JUSTIN:                                                   Oh, is it?  Right.  ErmÖ

IAN:                                                         Have you been unwell recently, sir?

JUSTIN:                                                   Well, I, er Ö now you come to mention it I did feel a little odd this morning.  I woke up and my legs were awfully weak.