Author Topic: Your short story publishing experience  (Read 1228 times)

Offline nomadog

Your short story publishing experience
« on: June 26, 2009, 10:11:41 AM »
Hi,

I have been looking to publish a couple of my short stories. Unfortunately, I keep meeting with "not accepting now, try again in the fall."
I am new to this; is it common to see so many publishers with a closed door?

Also, I am wondering if any of you have any general advice on publishing short stories or have found any particular resources helpful.

Thanks for any help.

nomadog

Offline Hugh

Re: Your short story publishing experience
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2009, 11:36:07 AM »
Hello, Heidi. Welcome.

Iím answering as someone who has had mostly articles published in magazines and newspapers, and just a couple of short stories, but the principles are the same.

I donít know anything about American markets, but would imagine there are far more magazines over there than there are here in the UK. The problem with short stories is that every woman (and her sister) wants to write them, so that editors of the big nationals are inundated with hundreds of unsolicited scripts. And when the magazine only wants one or two stories per issue, and the editor has accepted enough for the next six months, she will shut the door and say, ďNo more submissions until ÖĒ

But itís not all doom and gloom. For every hundred scripts submitted, probably at least ninety-five will be rejected without being read, for various reasons ó wrong length, wrong kind of subject matter, not presented in the correct manuscript form, or simply badly written and full of typos.