Author Topic: Patience  (Read 3403 times)

Offline aelfwin

• Unicorn, the symbol of fantasy
    • The Aelf's Bloggery
Patience
« on: January 14, 2006, 08:32:43 PM »
Patience is a wonderful thing, isn't it? Too bad a person can't buy a box or a bottle of it to use when one runs out. There are times I have lots of patience, I know that a novel will probably take a year or so to complete, specially being as I am a newbie. I know that each day that passes I write more, I study more and I learn more. I know that, and yet the urge to have a novel published is like having a demon with a cat o nine tails standing behind me, goading me on, saying "Hurry, hurry, hurry up fool, before your time is up!" I try to ignore it, and mostly I succeed, but every now and then he sneaks up on me again. It's at those times that I appreciate being able to communicate with other writers, knowing that they too must fight off this demon of impatience. A work well done takes all the patience, love and care that ones heart can pour into it, doesn't it. Just thought I'd get a new topic started,  ;) Aelf

robert1704

Re: Patience
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2006, 03:47:45 AM »
Very true what Aelfwin writes here and it is even true for every phase in the book-busilness.
When you have finished your book, you are satisfied and impatient, you want people to read it. The publishers however force you to be patient. You are surprised of the system. There is not much interest for your book. They want a perfect letter and a perfect synopsis. No interest at all for your masterpiece. You get the feeling that being an unpublished author makes it almost impossible to submit your manuscript, one day you certainly want to give up, but you don't.