Author Topic: Book Proposals Non Fiction  (Read 821 times)

Offline marilyn

• spiritual-pursuits
Book Proposals Non Fiction
« on: February 27, 2009, 10:34:24 AM »
Can someone help please. I am being bombarded with being told that I must make my book proposal witty and stand out from all the others and I have no got a clue how to start. Also I am supposed to have my peers say wonderful things about my work so that I have quotes from them. How do I do this. I know I sound silly but I am new at this and I am not sure at this stage where to turn. If someone could advise me I would be grateful.
Thanks a lot  ???
Marilyn

Wolfe

Re: Book Proposals Non Fiction
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2009, 10:53:56 AM »
Hello Marilyn.  I'm Wolfe. I know my way around fiction queries and nonfiction proposals.  The first step I recommend is that you read books on preparing a nonfiction proposal.  Unlike fiction, as you may already know, the project may be incomplete before you query the agents.

I recommend reading Elizabeth Lyon's Nonfiction Book Proposals Anybody can Write.  Elizabeth knows her stuff in literary and teaching circles.

Start there.

Wolfe
« Last Edit: February 27, 2009, 12:08:42 PM by Wolfe »

Offline marilyn

• spiritual-pursuits
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2009, 11:21:50 AM »
Thank you Wolfe I will certainly get the book. Thank you for taking the time to reply to me. I feel like a fish out of water at the minute.
Thanks again
Marilyn

Offline gabriel522

« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2009, 04:46:55 PM »
Hello
my first post!
I share the same problem basically - i have a project and i must develop the book proposal for an editor. I have very little experience with query letters as i have landed a monthly 1500 words column in a technical magazine and been going at it for almost two years.
So i read books (not the one recommanded since my mothertongue, as you may have noticed is french.