Author Topic: Writing from history/"inspiried by true story"/what???  (Read 1622 times)

Offline Dj.Deem

Writing from history/"inspiried by true story"/what???
« on: March 02, 2009, 08:42:54 PM »
Hey everyone

Im a newbie to this whole screenplay writing thing, as I am taking my first adventure into writing a script.

So I have this idea for a story that is based off of some pre-world war II stuff, and was wondering if this is "kosher".

Like, should I write about the guy directly, using his name and try and stick as close to truth and history as I can? (which is pretty interesting in itself)

Or, should I try and adapt the real-life story to be more entertaining and such. <<<Can you do this without getting in "trouble?" Is it illegal or something to write about someone and exaggerate events and mix them around? I feel like this has been done, but I'm just looking for some clarity.

Thanks for all the responses, and I look forward to becoming more active in this community!
Also, The man the story is about is deceased.

Offline Don

• Murder & mayhem for fun and profit.
Re: Writing from history/"inspiried by true story"/what???
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2009, 10:28:24 PM »
You haven't given us a lot of detail to go on, DJ, so I'll stick to generalities.

If you are writing about the actual experiences of your subject, I see no reason not to use his or her real name in the story.  If you are creating, exaggerating, rearranging or otherwise modifying the events this person lived through, I would use a different name and a similarities-to-any-person-living-or-dead disclaimer. Hope this helps.
I have a motto: when in doubt, go for the cheap laugh.

Offline Annmarie

• Got my kinky boots on. Watch out!
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2009, 03:14:49 AM »