Author Topic: Fantasy Story Openning (800~ish words)  (Read 1861 times)

Offline Zwugh1

Fantasy Story Openning (800~ish words)
« on: January 18, 2009, 04:46:37 PM »
Here's a beginning scene I wrote for a fantasy story.  I'm still a novice when it comes to writing, so please tell me how I can improve!  I'll take any constructive crit I can get.  Thank you in advance! ~Zwugh

------------------------------------------------------------
Everyone was there for the beheading.

The uncultured crowd of frontiersmen bustled and yelled noisily amongst themselves, restless with blood-lust, as rowdy youths shoved their way up the front lines to get a better look at the criminal.  The woman of the village hung more towards the rear, gossiping incessantly in hushed tones.  Several of them were weeping; one of them, a mother, was wailing.  But everyone else was excited, intensely excited; their anticipation stifled the very air around them.

Beheadings had become a rare delicacy nowadays, what with the darned Keshlu acting more cagey than ever.  The savages came infrequently. Only on nights.  And they were sly.  On the nights that they came, the devils would nab all they could from the village wares, then bolt back into their stinking forest holes before any of the village men could lay hands on them.  They were cunningly elusive.  Keshlu hunting trips had to be prepared and organized with extreme care; it took days, even weeks of searching to find a single Keshlu in the forest.  Sometimes, during these trips, the villagers would get lucky and seize a whole group of savages to be prosecuted.  But Keshlu packs were hard to come by, and most village hunting groups came home empty handed.  To catch even a single raider required hours of patience.