Author Topic: Opening to a novel - approx 400 words  (Read 4344 times)

Offline sonofdenis

• I'm an experienced beginner
Opening to a novel - approx 400 words
« on: November 11, 2008, 01:23:42 AM »
Hello again.  It's been a while.  I've had this idea for a novel knocking around for a while and it's starting to consume me!  It's basically about a guy who hasn't been home for 20 years, sees his old house for sale, buys it and decides to go back and rebuild the extension his father never finished.

He's a great success now - he left home at 18, penniless, and is now a millionaire.  He goes back to his old home and meets his father, an old friend and goes about rediscovering his roots.

Here's the first page.  Just wondering if people find it interesting to read on...

Chapter 1

John Bailey studied the grubby pebble-dash walls of his childhood home and wondered why it had taken him eighteen years to make it back to Woodhall.

He’d driven that morning from Brighton – his knees ached and his back was stiff.  He turned the front door key over and over in his right hand and stepped back to look at the roof.  A deep green layer of moss covered almost half of the tiles; the other half were either cracked or missing.  John’s eyes scanned down the front wall – cracks and deep gashes formed an alarming pattern not dissimilar to the London underground map.

The Wellhouse as it was eighteen years ago, sat hunched in John's memory – grey pebble-dash coating the sprawling building; the half-finished extension hung off the back door; the path leading from the extension to the enormous corrugated iron garage-come-workshop; the acre-large garden behind the workshop with the three billowing apple trees; the row of three tumble-down sheds on the western boundary and, of course, the huge, grey-brick well sat in the middle of the lawn.  What he saw in front of him now was a crumbled, hazy spectre of the home he once knew, but recognisable all the same.